Kobe Bryant named to NBA’s All-Defensive Second Team

Kobe Bryant was named to the NBA’s All-Defensive Second Team, it was announced today. It is the third time Bryant has been named to the Second Team and the 12th time overall in 16 seasons. (AP Photo/Mark J. Terrill)

The All Defensive teams are voted for by the NBA’s 30 coaches. Coaches can not vote for players on their own team.

Kobe averaged 1.2 steals per game during the regular season and 1.3 spg in the playoffs.

The First Team consisted of Chris Paul, Tony Allen, LeBron James, Serge Ibaka, Dwight Howard.

Other players on the Second Team were Rajon Rondo, Defensive Player of the Year Tyson Chandler, Luol Deng and Kevin Garnett.

His teammate, Andrew Bynum, who had a record-setting 10 blocks during the playoffs, didn’t receive a single vote. Metta World Peace received 3 votes.

Written by Ross Pickering

Ross Pickering is the founder of Lakerholicz.com. He's here to bring you daily updates on your Los Angeles Lakers, despite living 5,485 miles away from L.A. in England. You can follow him on Twitter: @RossPickering